FRIDAY IS HERE, and so is my FRIDAY FIVE


On Saturday, Sept. 03, 2005 @ 2:46 AM

Hello all and Happy Friday, it's still Friday for me damnit, I haven't gone to bed just yet, but I'm on my way there.

Today, I sent out fliers and emails to my Mary Kay customers, letting them know that I am donating 100% of my profits to relief efforts. I think I'll do half to the Red Cross and half to The Salvation Army. The link at the top of the page, above Betty Boop, will show you how you can do this too. I never have EVER tried to sell Mary Kay from this jornal before, but I think it's okay to do it just this once. For instructions on how to do this, just click that link. Also, I learned today that many Mary Kay consultants and Directors are unheard from since before the storm. I would like to ask everyone to pray for them as well. Even though I have never met these women, we are all family, and I hope they are all safe with thier families.

I had many errands to run today, which included a lunch with my Mary Kay director. We had this lunch planned all week, and I wanted to keep it. We talked about my business and the problems I'm having right now. She offered some advice to help, and for the first time in a while she wasn't pushy. We also started coming up with a plan to donate a percentage of the unit's sells to relief funds. This was her idea, so I offered to help.

I also ran to the bank, court house, post office, Wal-mart (of course) gas station, dry cleaners, my local Salvation Army store to donate clothing being sent to Mississippi, stopped by a preschool I'm eyeing for Kailee (didn't like it too much), then to the grocery store, and I applied for a job at the Base Florist. So yea, I did a lot of running around today, and thankfully we still have almost a full tank of gas. We don't plan on a lot of running around right now because of gas. Thank goodness we live on base so the hubby only has to drive less than a mile to work versus about 20 miles like it was before we moved on base, and hell how about the 45 I used to travel to my job back home in Tennessee? Yea, we are blessed so much right now. Anyhow, I was glad to be busy today. Not as much time to keep my mind solely focused on this disaster. And it cheered my spirits up a bit. But then I returned home just intime to watch the benefit concert. Did anyone catch that? And did anyone know what Kanye West was talking about. Don't think he was following the teleprompt do you? And Harry Conick Jr. just brought me into tears, I've always loved that man. He's awesome.

Anyway, so I also set up a linky site for websites dealing with Katrina and the disaster. I am still working on finding others. And Radiogurl also has a bunch of links set up on her diary. If you're interested.

Well, not much else to say. I am feeling a little bit better. I think I'm seeing some relief on TV for those people. I am still pissed at the government for taking so damn long and making a million excuses as to why they weren't in there sooner. I'm pissed also at our wonderful president. Please catch my sarcasim. I don't like him, not afraid to say it either. He seems to me to be trying to act the hero. I'm glad to be reading that other people aren't buying into it. I think he will try to come out the hero on this, and that will be his way to widdle out of taking responsibility for Iraq. Ugh, I just don't like the man. But anyway, I'm gonna end this entry with my Friday Five. Even though it's technically Saturday morning now, it's still Friday night for me, so better late than never! Have a GREAT AND WONDERFUL WEEKEND EVERYONE!!!

MY FRIDAY FIVE

1. What sport do you most enjoy watching on television (or tolerate most)?FOOTBALL ALL THE WAY!

2. If you could be really, really good at one sport (we're talking world elite here), what would it be?
OH gosh, I always wanted to play football when I was younger. But you know, NO GIRLS ALLOWED type thing. But then the older I got, I really wanted to be good at Softball. Now since I'm really old, and Softball is hard on my knees, I'd have to say Bowling. LOL, no kidding, honestly, the one sport I wish I could have accoplished, and believe me I tried, is FIGURE SKATING.

3. Have you ever been active in some form of sports?
Yes, SOFTBALL! I LOVE IT! I was into Soccer for a while, but got tired of it, so Softball was the one sport I stuck with and grew to love with a passion. I still do, but I can't play because of knees and back. Oh well.

4. Would you rather be a computer geek or a sports geek?Well, nowadays, I like my Computer Geek status, but I do miss my Softball.

5. What teams do you cheer for?
University of Tennessee Volunteers!
AND OF COURSE - MY Tennessee TITANS!!!
(they aren't doing so hot the last few seasons, but still...GO TITANS!!)

That's all everyone, have a safe and fun holiday weekend!

Remember to keep those victims of Hurricane Katrina in your thoughts and prayers.




<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits