More Hope


On Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007 @ 4:51 PM

So it's, April, and the weather is WONDERFUL! Right?
For today it is....

..BLIZZARD WATCH IN EFFECT FROM LATE THURSDAY NIGHT THROUGH FRIDAY AFTERNOON...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN PUEBLO HAS ISSUED A BLIZZARD WATCH...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM LATE THURSDAY NIGHT THROUGH FRIDAY AFTERNOON.

THE BLIZZARD WATCH IS IN EFFECT FOR EL PASO COUNTY BELOW 7500 FEET. THIS INCLUDES MONUMENT...COLORADO SPRINGS... BLACK FOREST...AND CALHAN.

SNOW IS FORECAST TO DEVELOP AND SPREAD ACROSS MUCH OF SOUTHERN COLORADO THURSDAY NIGHT AND CONTINUE THROUGH FRIDAY. THE SNOW MAY BE HEAVY AT TIMES LATE THURSDAY NIGHT AND FRIDAY. TOTAL SNOWFALL COULD EXCEED 6 INCHES WITH NEAR A FOOT AROUND THE PALMER DIVIDE FOR THURSDAY NIGHT AND FRIDAY. WINDS ARE FORECAST TO BE FROM THE NORTH AT 15 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 50 MPH ACROSS EL PASO COUNTY LATE THURSDAY NIGHT INTO FRIDAY. THE COMBINATION OF HEAVY SNOW AND WINDY CONDITIONS MAY CREATE BLOWING AND DRIFTING SNOW...AND NEAR WHITEOUT CONDITIONS. DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS COULD EXIST ACROSS EL PASO COUNTY... ESPECIALLY AROUND THE PALMER DIVIDE AND ALONG INTERSTATE 25 AND HIGHWAY 24 FRIDAY.

THAT'S what is headed our way. Did you see the last sentence? Where it says travel will be dangerous around highway 24? Well I live right off highway 24! Goodie for me!

I can't help but be SO PISSED ABOUT THIS! I know it's Colorado, and I know I wanted to move here....but, two weekends in a row I've had big plans, both ruined by SNOW! I'm hoping it blows over without a trace. We've been forecasted this type of weather before, and nothing came our way. Here's hoping.

In other news....and why I don't write everyday. I AM SO FREAKING TIRED AROUND THE CLOCK. I KNOW, it's normal, and it will pass. BUT DAMNIT! Enough is enough. I don't remember being this tired when I was pregnant with Kailee. I probably was, but I don't remember it. I'm hoping it passes VERY soon. (I'm dong a lot of "hoping" today)

So one other thing on my mind. Politics. HA! No, I'm not kidding. I'm so geared up for this upcoming presidental election. I can only hope (there's that word again) that a lot changes. What brought all this on is I was watching Bill Maher (a political talk show on HBO). He's freaking great. If you don't watch him, you should. Anyhow, they were talking about how liberalist have been saying that Bush doesn't call for us to sacrifice for this war, as much as people did back in War World 2, etc. WRONG. He made the best point I've heard about this war. The "War on Terror". YES we are sacrificing. We are sacrificing our Civil Rights. How about strip searches in the airport, our phone calls being monitored? And a long list of other stuff that just made sense. And then there is the military personnel. The ones that have been to Iraq 5+ times. And thier families. Or the ones that have lost thier lives over there. And then....there's the fact that the average military member lives borderline poverty level. Yes, that's me. Even with our benefits, we still suffer day to day. And the military members aren't the only ones. There are MANY civilian families suffering for this "War on Terror" as well. With the Bush administration focusing so much on the war, it's lost with what is important here on the homefront. How about our education. Apparently the reason why MY CHILD only attends Kindergarden three hours a day is because there isn't enough money to fund full day Kindergarden programs. And Health Insurance? How many of you out there pay a shit load for it? OR, no longer qualifiy for medicare or state assistance because of budget cuts. How about MY GRANDMOTHER who just turned 64 yesterday, who has surrived Colon Cancer, but just 6 months ago went back to work because SHE couldn't afford her health care costs? And whether you are hit close by the above mentioned facts, I'm SURE you will agree you are hit close by this one......GAS PRICES. I remember when I first started driving, I paid 88 cents a gallon. I'm sure lots of you will remember when it was just 50 cents a gallon.

Wrapping up, I just feel that "we the poeple" are SO MUCH suffering and sacrificing that we don't even know it. We may not be donating our silk undergarments so they can be made into parachutes, but we are sacrificing. Civil rights, financially, our children. Everyone is. And I hope that this election will bring on some major changes. (There I go hoping again) I'm just worried I'm putting too much "hope" into our future president, whomever that may be.

Lastly, I hope I didn't offend anyone. I really hope that my readers are open minded enough to read this, and whether you agree or not, see my point. I wrote this, then highlighted and was about to delete it and not even post it...then I stopped. This is STILL America right? I should be able to speak my mind. Without offense to anyone out there. And it's just that, me speaking my mind, my opinions. And if I did offend you, my apologies.

OK I'M OFF! Enjoy your wonderful weather, for those that are having Spring. Enjoy it for me too. While I sit here and await my Blizzard on the way.




<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits