The one with the Politics


On 2004-08-18 @ 12:26 a.m.

NOTE: This entry contains content that may be offensive to some, particulary Republicans. Please read at your own risk, and if you don't like it, I DON'T CARE!

Well, it�s been a while since I wrote. I guess nothing has been going on in my boring pathetic life here in Idaho. I�m not even in school right now because we are out on break! YAY! T�is nice to not have to worry about my assignments this week. And next week too! YAY! And today seemed to prove to be a productive day. Yesterday we found out that we have our house on base, so we are moving in a month. OMG there so much to do! Not only do we have to pack and move, but we have to buy a washer and dryer, a new kitchen table, and possibly a lawn mower! But it�s all exciting because we�re moving into a new house. And we�re gonna have more room, and a back yard. I�m really excited. So we�re moving in exactly a month. I just can�t wait that long! So, today we went looking for a washer and dryer and a kitchen table. We actually found a good deal at the BX on base so we applied for credit there and got approved for way more than enough to buy our stuff. So, I guess it�s just a waiting game now! YAY!

Tommy and I have this show that we watch called �Real Time with Bill Mahr.� It�s a really good show about politics. Bill Mahr is like a political comedian with a lot of good points and views on the subjects at hand. On this show he has three guests every week that he discusses the bullshit topics of our society. I enjoy watching this show, but I get really mad over a lot of the issues discussed.

Issue # 1

George Bush, Iraq War, John Kerry

First of all, I am a democrat. I hate the republicans. However, when Bush decided to go to war with Iraq, I thought AT THAT TIME, that he had a point, and maybe it was just. However, I have since learned the real reasons for Bush going to war, and that we were led under false pretenses to go to war with Iraq. We now know that there were NO weapons of mass whatever. So the issue was that now that we know all of this, Kerry was asked if he would still back Bush in the war. Apparently he said yes he would. What the fuck? That is fucked up. I mean, one of his good signs is that he doesn�t want us to stay in Iraq and he wants to end the war over there. But he is saying that he would back the war up even knowing what he knows now! Ugh, politics make me ill.

Issue # 2

Gay Governor, Gay people hiding their lifestyle

What the hell is this all about? A governor comes out and says that he�s gay and he�s quitting his job. And now everyone is looking bad upon him. Whatever. He chose to hide his lifestyle because he knew that if he showed who he really was, he would never have a successful career. If people in the arts can come out and be gay then why can�t doctors, lawyers, and top execs at a corporation come out and be themselves? I just feel bad for those out there that have to hide the person they are because of society. I mean here�s my point. If I went into a job interview at a nice place of business and had great creditentials, the right experience, and my college degree and the people said, �Okay, you look great on paper, but can you tell us a little about yourself?� And I replied, �Okay, well, I have a 3 year old daughter, I�m a hard worker, and oh, I�m a lesbian.� Do you honestly think this great place of business would call me back for that job? No, I don�t either. I bet I would never hear from them again. And to prove my point, I think if I get called for a job that I really don�t want, I�m gonna try this out. I�ll get back to ya and let you know what happens with this.

So, I guess that�s about it. After shopping for home furnishings for four hours, then playing with Kailee for about 2 I slept for the afternoon until Tommy came home from work early. I threw together some dinner for us, then watched that show, and now I�m writing this. All in all not a bad day. Like I have said so many times before, there is nothing really special and important about my life.

Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it whether it exists or not, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedy.�

--Ernest Benn





<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits