LeapFrog Inspections and Weird Sleeping habits


On Tuesday, Dec. 14, 2004 @ 4:12 PM

Okay, D-land�s servers are down, so I�m typing this in MS Word and the official time for this entry is 3:55.

Tonight I have my CPR class from 5:00 till 9:00 PM. What a fucked up time for a class that I absolutely can�t reschedule. It really sucks for more than one reason. I have lots to do today, and poor Kailee will be going to a babysitter she hardly knows because her regular sitter is not open at night, any the hubby works at night so he can�t be home with her, which I prefer. I have never liked dropping Kailee off anywhere, except with family. Even when she was an infant and she attended my Step-mother�s daycare, I didn�t like it. I have issues with it, which is why I have temporarily chosen a career where I can stay at home. Anyway, I only have about 10 minutes to write this entry before I have to rush outta here. Usually it takes me thirty or so minutes to type an entry because I get distracted all the damn time.

Anyway, the inspection yesterday went okay. When I wrote my entry that morning, I had not went to bed yet. I had decided to get up at 9:30 to finish up the last minute stuff that needed to be done. Well, as luck would have it, or my lack there of, my alarm didn�t go off. The childcare lady doing my inspection was to be here at 11:00 and I woke up right at 10:50. Last time she came, she was early, and I was hoping there was something that would make her extremely late. I needed a shower bad so that I could wake up, plus I don�t do anything without a shower. I hate the feeling I have when I wake up. And plus, my hair is naturally curly, so I have to fix it wet, and not touch it for the rest of the day. Usually I shower right when I get up so that my hair looks decent. When I don�t get a shower or at least wet my hair, my hair is frizzy and icky looking, and I personally feel like white trash. No one around me understands why I can�t just brush it up in a ponytail or something. But they don�t have naturally curly, thick, red hair like me, so I don�t expect them to understand. So anyway, I got up and brushed my teeth, washed my face, threw my hair up as best as I could and tried to finish up at least the dishes that were in the sink. As I was doing that, she rang the doorbell. At least the husband was up, and he took my place at the sink. The lady came in and spread her stuff across the table and pulled out her clipboard and pen and started searching my house. I was mortified. I was terrified. I wasn�t nearly as prepared for this as I had hoped to be and I just wanted to crawl in a hole and stay there. As she inspected the house I watched for things that she might not approve of, like the ash tray in the garage full of butts and the beer bottles left over from the weekend in there too. When I came in she was in the bathroom which I had cleaned because that is an important spot. But she was looking underneath the counter, which are child proofed by the way, and all I could think is why the hell would she look in there if it�s child proofed? I was a little worried that she might a sexual item under there or our something else, but she just closed it up and went about her business. In the end, there wasn�t much that I needed to fix. Just needed to get my hair gel off the counter because it had a label to keep out of kid�s reach, and then in the kitchen under my sink there was some food spillage I guess. That was all she said. WHEW! I passed with flying colors but I will still have to change those things before she will allow me to open. Big freaking deal. Anyway, I was pleased I guess, but the whole time I was so nervous that I couldn�t stop sweating, and I got to thinking that I just don�t know if I can go through that inspection each month. It�s not exactly fair that she can tell us how we need to live our lives when I don�t have daycare children in the home, and that I what I feeling like she was doing. But I guess the good thing is that I got it over with, and after tonight�s CPR class, assuming that I pass, which I know I will, she will go to the board to get my license. YAY!

In other news, I wanted to say that the LeapFrog LeapPad has to be the best toy invented in years. That thing keeps my daughter occupied for hours. She got one for Christmas from her Nana and I just let her open it, and she loves that thing. I couldn�t believe how smart she was when I sat down with her last night to do the stuff with her. I mean, she�s three, but incrediably intelligent in my book!

Well I have officially screwed up my family�s schedule too. Because of our crazy weekend of staying up really late and sleeping in, the hubby now sleeps till he has to go to work which is 2:00 PM and in turn stays up all night. Last night, I was so tired that I wanted to go to bed early, but I stayed up till 4:00 AM with him, and the crazy thing was Kailee did too. So today we slept in till 2:00 again, and so tonight it will be the same thing. Even poor Kailee isn�t on a regular schedule anymore. But the way I see it is that we stay up with her all night, and we all sleep at the same time. She is getting the right amounts of rest, just at different times than the rest of the world. Because my husband works at night, the only good time to spend with him is after he gets home, which is usually around Midnight. So we stay up to spend time with him, and then we all go to bed around the same time like a normal family, it�s just at different hours of the day. I don�t think this is a big deal really, because Kailee still gets her good amount of sleep, and the best part is she is now seeing her daddy more and she will be asleep while we sleep in too. So what�s the harm in this? Well, I don�t know, I just would really like to be up and about like the rest of the world I guess. But when you�re in the military, you have to take the time you get with your spouse. This will all have to change though when I open my daycare of course, and I probably won�t see my husband much during the week. But I have to do what I have to do to support my family right?

Well, this entry took longer than I wanted to write, and now it is 4:19. D-land is back up so I can post it, and I have to rush to get ready to leave for my class. Toodles everyone!


Hours later, I have decided to write more...so here is a little more

I am in the midst of a meltdown I think. I am trying to catch up two weeks worht of school work, and then finish up this week's work on time. I don't know if I can stand it. I have been working for an hour straight and I'm already about to explode! And I'm not even through my first assignment. To explain how much I have to do, I have 12 assignments to complete before the end of the week, which is Saturday at midnight. I am hoping that at least my Psychology teacher will give me an extension till at least MOnday since they usually don't grade papers till then anyway. It's honestly my fault that I got so far behind. I could have made up the work last week, and be caught up this week, but instead I was too busy feeling sorry for myself because my Mom left and I couldn't go home for the holidays that I didn't do shit. So it's really my fault, and now I'm paying the price.

So, the CPR class was a little bit boring to me since I have taken it twice before. Of course my certification didn't follow me from Tenessee into Idaho, so there ya go, craziness. Anyway, it was pretty boring, and I was starving, and I was sleepy. Damnit. But I finally got outta there, and I passed my tests of course with 98% YAY!

On another note, I am reading this new book. It's so good, my Mom gave it to me. It's called "The Christmas Train" and it's by David Baldacci. I've never heard of this writer, but apparently he's pretty famous and has a lot of good books out there. I just love Christmas books. One of my favorites is Skipping Christmas by John Grisham which they just released a movie based upon that book. I haven't seen the movie, but I plan too, and I think the book will still be way better than the movie anyhow. But the book I'm reading now is about a writer in his mid fourties taking a train right before Christmas across the country from DC to LA. In the book he is documenting his experiences and writing a book about them. This book is about his experiences. I am loving already. Even though I have little time to read it, I keep finding myself not being able to put it down. So, I reccomend everyone checking this book out, you should love it!

Well, I have been so busy lately that I have neglected to mention a site that my friend and I designed. It's called The Art of Journaling and you can go there by clicking HERE.It is just an insprirational site that changes from week to week with pictures, quotes, stories, or prompts for you to write about in your journal. It was inspired by Peices of You which I love, but we added more to it and give people more than a quote or prompt to write about. Please go and check it out you will really like it. The main reason we created it was for when people have writer's block wich occurs to both of us often. So with that all in mind, I am going to do one of the prompts for the week, here goes nothing...

Prompt 1. Grab the nearest book. Don't search around and look for the "coolest" book you can find. Pick up what's actually next to you.
2. Open the book to page 99.
3. Find the third paragraph.
4. Post the text of the first sentence of that third paragraph in your journal, and write about it. What do you think it means(if you haven't read the book). If you have read the book, what does it mean, what happens during this scene?

Okay, my book is called The Christmas Train and here is page 99, third paragraph, first sentence...execpt that page 99 of this book doesn't have three paragraphs, so it's the second paragraph!
"On the surface, the group in the lounge car looked fairly innocent, but these were the types one had to watch out for, Tom knew."

Well, I am not this far in the book. I am only on page 66, and so from what I have read thus far, I can only assume that he is entering the lounge car after his dinner. Tom, the main character is a writer, and he is traveling on this train from DC to LA to document his experiences, a request that his father made on his death bed. Because Tom couldn't fly, he decided it was the prim opportunity for him to take the trip on a train. He is headed for LA to spend Christmas with his girlfriend.

I am assuming that what this sentence is about is still his first night of the trip. Previously in the book, Tom ran into a big time Hollywood director who was alos headed for LA and planning to make a movie about the trip. During this conversation, the director came up with an idea. He wanted Tom to work side by side with the director's screenplay writer. The director introduced Tom to his screenplay writer wich turns out to be someone from Tom's painful past. This is the first twist of the book. During that meeting the three agree to have drinks in the Lounge car after Dinner time and I assume that Tom is entering the lounge car for this purpose.

Hope you all enjoy this weeks prompt, check our site for other prompts that we have posted for the week! :)



<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits