Computer Hassles


On Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005 @ 8:00 PM

I hate computers. Did I ever state that? Well if not, I�m stating it now, for the record, I hate computers. Okay, maybe not all computers, but I really HATE MINE! Actually mine isn�t so bad whenever it�s not infected with some sort of Spyware bullshit. I�m so freaking mad right now. I shouldn�t be writing an entry because I�m so mad and I�ll probably be really negative and God knows I hate that, but I�m so pissed right now, damnit!

Here�s the deal. My computer crashed right before Christmas. Probably because of people getting on it and downloading videos, music, etc. and somehow all this spyware got on it. It was so bad that even when I tried to restore it with the CD that came with the computer, it wouldn�t work. Right in the middle of the restore process, it crashed. The screen did this black out thing and then all of a sudden I had a little white curser staring at me and blinking. I tried restoring again, and no luck. So I called Emachines, they sent me more discs and by some miracle my computer started working again. Okay, thank GOD. I was so happy. It was working just fine until the husband starts getting on here, and wants to watch some videos and then he downloads Quickplayer, and somehow that opens a portal for all the damn spyware to attack me again. So, I restore the computer again. Everything is fine. Working great. Well, I go out of town to Salt Lake City, some of you might remember this, and while I�m gone, the husband downloads more videos that require Quickplayer, and when I return from my trip, my computer is infected with the damn spyware once again! Now, it�s been two weeks. And I�ve been unsuccessfully trying to fix it everytime I have the time to get on here for a while. But with no luck.

Here�s what�s happening to my computer�
The homepage has been hijacked. I use MSN explorer, I pay a hefty montly penny for this MSN service too, and I am one of the few people out there that actually like MSN. Okay back to the point. So, MSN explorer has a homepage, that I customize to my liking. And when I sign in to MSN, and the explorer opens, it should bring up my customized homepage. Well it doesn�t. This is my first sign of trouble. It�s the first thing the Spyware always attacks. What does come up is this weird page called a Search page. The URL to the page is about:blank. It annoys the hell outta me.

The second thing that is wrong is I keep getting these little pop up ads that say my computer is infected with Spyware and I need to click the ad to get rid of it. Okay, first of all, I KNOW MY COMPUTER IS INFECTED! Second of all, I�m not about to click some pop up ad to get rid of my problems. That�s probably where the trouble started in the first place.

Third thing is that I have a program called Spysweeper. It is SUPPOSED to get rid of all the spyware. However, it doesn�t. It will scan my computer, give me a complete list and description of every thing that it finds, and then when I say delete everything, it doesn�t take this one thing off. Damn, I forgot the name of it, but the description says that it�s a hijacking cookie that will take over my home page, web searches and other applications. Well NO SHIT! I know this already, why won�t you amazing forty dollar program take care of it!

Another thing that is fucked up is Pogo. For whatever reason, it won�t let me play Pogo games. And also Yahoo is fucked up too. Whenever I try to sign in, it takes over the Yahoo page and what comes up is that about:blank page that is a weird search page. So DAMNIT! GRRRRRR, I�m so mad.

And this isn�t all of it. There�s lots more that won�t work. I can�t download any music, I can�t use the internet without being invaded by pop up ads that even my pop up blocker won�t stop, my computer runs extremely slooooooowwwwww, and my Norton Antivirus WILL NOT WORK either! So there it is, a lot that is pissing me off about my computer. Told you I shouldn�t be writing right now.

So, in an attempt to relax today and try to get well, and try to just do whatever I wanted, I crawled on the couch, flipped on the TV, popped my all time favorite movie, Titanic, got a bowl of popcorn, and attempted to watch my movie. With the husband gone to practice with his band, and Kailee chilled out next to me, I thought to myself �Wow, I might actually get some rest and relaxation.� Wrong was I. Our Television is about five years old now. There is a short in the video outputs and when you�re watching a DVD it will black out from time to time. This has been going on for a very long while now. But the husband didn�t want to buy a new TV when we got out Tax check this year, so oh well. We were just dealing with it. Until today. The damn thing blacked out, and would NOT come back on without me holding the video output. I tried taping it, I even tried some tinfoil on the damn thing, but it just wouldn�t work. So, I started hitting the damn video outputs and I think I hit it really hard because the sides of the TV are now purple and green. Finally though I got the damn thing to work, however I still had to watch Titanic with green and purple stripes down each side. It was unnerving to have to see Jack and Rose make love and they were discolored! So, not very relaxing.

So, I guess that�s all my bitching for now. I think I�m about to try and restore my computer. This means I will have to save all my damned files and pictures on CDs before hand. And then once the computer is restored, I�ll have to reload everything, including all my software, which takes forever. I might save this task for another day, but I really just want to play some Pogo games and download some music, so I might do it now. And tomorrow won�t be too much of a relaxation day. I�ll be taking Kailee to church for Easter, which my husband isn�t too thrilled about. Randi and her husband will be going too, however I doubt they�ll end up making it. Then after Church we have a few friends coming over for Easter Lunch, which will involved me cooking a Ham, a pie, mashed potatoes, gravy, macaroni and cheese, rolls, green beans, and whatever else I decide to throw in the mix. Oh what fun! I actually enjoy cooking, but because today was blown, I don�t wanna now. Oh well, can�t back out now though. So that�s it for me. Have a Happy Easter everyone, hunt lots of eggs.




<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits