Mary Kay will donate to relief funds


On Thursday, Sept. 01, 2005 @ 5:24 PM

Well this does make me feel somewhat better.

As the devastation from Hurricane Katrina unfolds, our first thoughts are for the safety of our Mary Kay family. Let me reassure you that we have heard from Independent National Sales Directors in the affected areas and all are safe. We�ll attempt to keep you informed if we receive word about other independent sales force members in these areas.

In the legacy of Mary Kay�s giving heart, we also want you to be the first to know that we will donate $1 million to aid in hurricane relief efforts. Please understand that we are still working on the details of this and other relief effort plans, and will post information as soon as we have it on the Mary Kay InTouch� Web site for all sales force members to see.

Since it�s month end, we know you will be talking to your area Independent Sales Directors throughout the evening. They may ask you what the Company is doing to help. Please let them know about the donation and that we are looking into other opportunities to help. Once again, we will keep you informed via the Mary Kay InTouch� Web site.

As we share our blessings with those less fortunate, please join the entire Mary Kay staff as we keep the families devastated by the hurricane in our thoughts and prayers.

I recieved that email today from my Sales Director. Being a Mary Kay consultant, thier contrubution does have something to do with me as I place orders to make that company money. So again I say, it makes me feel like in another very SMALL way I'm helping. In addition to that and my contrubution to the Red Cross, and the fact that as soon as I can I will donate blood, I'm sure they will need it sooner or later. But it makes me feel like I'm helping, even if it is very little. Anything helps right now right?

So also, I talked to my friend here that is from New Orleans. He finally talked to his parents late last night. They have accounted for most of the family, so that is good news. They didn't make it to Texas, they went to northeren Mississippi though, and seem to be doing well. However, they are pretty sure everything they had including their jobs are gone. SO they may have to find a place to start over.

And other than that, that's all I have. This morning with the Whistle Pig thing wasn't that bad. The guy only sprinkled POISON all over my yard to kill them. Eew, that means they will be under the ground dead. Won't that start to smell? Who knows. Also, that means that Kailee can't go out back to play for a while. Damnit. That is one good activity that gets her energy out and off my back for a while. Some people have asked me what the hell a Whistle Pig is. Well I had never heard of them until moving here. But they are like yard moles only the live very far under the ground. They dig trails in your yard though, and come up through holes to eat the grass seeds and grass around thier holes. I have like four little communities of holes out there where they dig thier trials and have thier little holes. My husband was out one day watching them pop up and hold a baseball bat so he could try and catch a few. But they are very fast creatures. SO, the poison that was laid down this morning was like a seed stuff, the type of stuff these creatures eat, and is supposed to make them want to eat it but then kill them. All I'm saying is I don't want to see a bunch of dead pigs out there. And the dog, well he likes to catch them and eat them, so he can't be out too long, if he catches one, it could be poisoned and will in turn kill him. Ugh.

But again, as I sit there and talk about my stupid petty whistle pig problem, I think to myself, at least I'm not gonna smell fecies or see dead bodies floating around.

Another update about hurricane Katrina. There is an Air Force Base right north of Biloxi, it's where the storm hunters are. We heard today that the base was pretty much destroyed and a lot of the families station there are unaccounted for. Another situation to keep in your prayers.

Well, it's payday and that of course means, I have to go grocery shopping and what not. So I better get on that. Thanks for the nice comments and encouraging words. I truly appreciate it. Have a good one, and incase I don't udate this weekend, have a great Labor Day holiday!




<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits