The Funny Path of Life


On Sunday, Mar. 04, 2007 @ 1:28 PM

Ahhh Sunday. My lazy day of the week. I love love love it. Except today, my Husband has a million things he'd like me to do. Grrrrr....Husbands. Sometimes, you just want to wash them down the drain.

So I decided I needed to write tribute to a friend of mine. Her name is Amber. I have spoke of her here before. The last I spoke of her I do believe was when I lost touch with her. Back in 2004. See I have to tell the story for you to get it, so here it is, the short version....

Back when Kailee was just a few months old, my Step-Mom closed her daycare where Kailee went, for FREE, while I worked. I searched for good affordable childcare, and learned that my next door neighbor watched 2 kids during the day and was willing to take Kailee, for 50 bucks a week. Ever paid for daycare? Then you know that's a steal. So I got to know my neighbor, Amber, and learned she was great with the kids, pregnant herself, and recently moved to Tennessee with her boyfriend. It was then that started my friendship with her.

Months went by and we were together all the time! It was great. Something about us just clicked, we had so much in common. Years went by, and we were still bestest of friends.

In 2003 we lost touch for a few months. Due to some drama I won't get into. I married Kailee's father, he joined the Air Force, and it was while he was gone to Basic Training that we found each other yet again. In September of that year, we moved to Idaho.

No matter though, Amber and I talked everyday. I went home for Christmas, and we spent a lot of time together. I went back to Idao, we still talked everyday.

Then I decided to plan a long trip home to Tennessee back in 2004. Life was miserable in Idaho. My marriage was on the rocks, and we just decided I'd stay in Tennessee for 3 months. Right before I left, Amber left her boyfriend of 4 years and the father of her baby. Lots of drama there I won't go into. But long story short, she quickly fell in the arms of another guy, and well at first he was great.

The first month I was home, Amber and I were together all the time, and just enjoying life together. Then she stopped calling me. Started standing me up for plans. It was horrible. I decided to leave Tennessee early and head back to Idaho after 2 months of being there. I called to tell her I was leaving, and she didn't give a shit. So that was that. I thought our friendship was over.

She called me twice around the holidays that year. Once because she had left above said boyfriend and wanted to apologize and explain to me that he was the reason we were no longer friends. I was torn and didn't know if I wanted to give in and get close again. The second time, she had tried to commit suicide. She wanted me to know incase someone else called me and told me.

Then months went by once again, and I didn't hear from her. Turns out she was having a hard life at that time. She had also gotten BACK with above said boyfriend and she was pregnant. They had reconciled though, and were engaged. I hear from her finally in the fall of 2005 when she had her baby. She was getting her life back together and wanted me back in it. She was still with above said boyfriend, her second child's father, but she assured me he was ok with us being friends, and wouldn't come in the middle again. So when I headed home for Christmas that year, we hooked up. It was amazing. We cried and laughed like nothing had ever happened. And her boyfriend personally apologized to me. I had my friend back.

Last year, months went by, and we talked everyday on the phone. And I planned my trip back home last year in July, for 2 months. Life was good...until....early July right before I flew to Tennessee, above said boyfriend left her. Up and left. I only knew of small issues they were having, I didn't know it was this serious.

Two bad things happened. See Amber didn't work, because he did and insisted she stay home with the kids. So she didn't have her own money which meant she didn't have means to have a car or take care of her children. She decided she would move back home to New York, with her family. The second and worse thing to happen was above said asshole-boyfriend had Amber served with court papers.....sueing her for full custody of the baby.....stating that she couldn't leave the state.....UNDER THE TERMS THAT SHE ABUSED HER CHILDREN.

That situation took almost the entire 2 months I was in Tennessee to be resovlved. Never the less, Amber and I were still able to have fun together, and enjoy time together before she moved away. Everything worked out and she now lives in New York, working her own job, in her own apartment. I'm so proud of her.

She has totally gotten her life back together, and finally is happy. She just got engaged to be married to a great guy, who has 2 kids of his own. The wedding is in December, and she asked me to be her Maid-of-Honor. I cried. I am so incredibly happy for her.

I guess my point in writing, is that even though Amber and I live so incredibly far away, we are still so close. We talk almost everyday. And I'm going to be her Maid of Honor in her wedding. I'm honored. I'm happy, and excited. And I am just so glad to have her back in my life. And though bad things have happened between us, you never know where it might lead to. Life is just funny that way.

Time Wasted Today: Are you kidding? It's Sunday, I'm lazy on purpose.

Pregnancy Issue: I'm acutally doing great. Even drinking coffee right now!! I love it.

Kailee's Quote of the Day: "That guy has issues, not problems, issues, that's worse you know." She was referring to the guy in the movie "Employee of the Month"....he did have issues.





<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits