Friends and Toenails


On Saturday, Mar. 10, 2007 @ 11:31 AM





QuizGalaxy!
'What will your obituary say?' at QuizGalaxy.com


THAT ^^ craked me up seeing as I have a toenail that has some sort of weird funk thing going. It's been like that for years, since I was 12 I think. My Step-mom's daycare went on a field trip to the bowling alley. I was a helper that day, and was getting the bowling balls picked out for all the kids, and this one little girl didn't listen to what she was told, and tried to get her own ball. She picked up a 15 pounder and dropped it right on my big toe. The damn thing took almost a year before it was normal again, and once it was healed, the whole toenail fell off of course....the toenail has never been the same and always had this funk thing with it. So I when I read the above obit for myself, I thought it was just fitting!

Well I usually don't write on the weekends but I'm in a writing mood. Nothing in particular to write about, just random stuff I guess.

Last night the Husband was headed out to a movie with Co-worker and his Co-worker's wife. I was glad to see him making friends. He's normally not a very social person at all. But he seems to like this guy he works with, we'll call JK for short. JK is extremely funny and I think the Husband and him have quite a bit in common. JK's wife is really nice as well. Last weekend we had dinner with them, and it was enjoyable, but cut short because she got sick. Honestly, we figured JK and his wife didn't really like us, and decided to go thier own way or something. But guess we were wrong. I surprised when the Husband called me telling me they were coming over last night.

I was sick as a damn dog yesterday. Absolutely sick as a dog. So after I sent the Husband off on his way to the movies, I laid down to nap. He calls me right as I was drifting away to tell me their movie is sold out until 10:30 and they all wanted to bring dinner back over here and hang out till the movie. Ok, shit....I now had like 20 minutes to wake up, make myself presentable, and clean the house. I did it, but I was dead exhausted when I was done.

Anyhow so JK and his wife came and we actually had a great time just getting to know each other. And it could be possible that we could be friends with these people. Who knows. It'll be nice to have some friends here, but after all the trouble I had in Idaho with people I made friends with, I don't know how close I'll let myself get.

In Idaho I can tell you I became close friends with at LEAST 5 different people, all 5 at some point sort of stabbed me in the back. Friend number one was SA, I watched her baby a lot so her and her hubby could go out, and she would watch Kailee for me. Well one night, SA and myself, and another friend of ours decided to go out to the bar. SA ended up leaving with other people and not telling us, leaving us stranded at the bar. This was also the same night that some jerks in the Husband's shop tried to use thier Military rank ON me and were yelling at me and physically pulling me around. It turned out to be horrible and a lot of drama. Anyhow when the Husband needed to get to town to help me and my friend, SA wouldn't have anything to do with it, nor would her and her hubby watch Kailee for us while my husband tried to settle the drama going on between myself, my friend, and the Husband's co-workers. It was rediculous.

BUT - Karma goes around. About 6 months later, SA was kicked out of her house on base for a DUI, and contributing to minors! She also had a stripe pulled, which means she lost rank. Sorry but I couldn't help but feel like "haha, what goes around comes around."

Moving on....there was another close friend. DM. I was actually her Maid of Honor in her wedding. I actually planned the whole thing. Turns out she was a back stabber too. Her husband and my husband worked together. Without going into great detail, she did a lot of backstabbing to me. She also verbally attacked me on this here journal stating I was a terrible mother. It was awful, and in the end, I told her to never talk to me again. Which of course she tried to do, but without sucess.

There were a few other friends in Idaho that hurt me. Lesson learned was that I stopped getting too close to people, and stopped telling them anything personal. I realized finally after 3 years, you just can't trust many people in your life. I know of only 3 people that I could trust anything to. Outside of those people, I've stopped "baring all" to people. I get close enough to be a good friend, but I have a wall up. After you get burned so many times, you just lose all confidence in the goodness of mankind.

So, while I like these new people that have come into our lives, I know I'll be keeping my distance. It sucks, but it's just how life is. You never know who to trust and who not to.

That'll do it for today, I'm off to play Pogo!



<< -- >>



Navigation
Credits